menu

Department of German

People menu

People

Sharon Bernor

Programme Administrator (Postgraduate)
Room : Arts One 1.08
+44 20 7882 8332
s.j.bernor@qmul.ac.uk

Nepa Brownsmith

Resources Manager
Room : Bancroft Building 120a
+44 (0)20 7882 2678
n.brownsmith@qmul.ac.uk

Martina Deny

German Language Studies Co-Ordinator, Year Abroad Co-Ordinator (maternity leave until 14th November 2016)
Room : Arts One 2.01
+44 (0)20 7882 8301
m.deny@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : London Literature, Representations of Space and Place, Identity Theory, Anglo-German Studies

Edward Donovan

Administrator, Foundation Programmes
Room : Bancroft Building 124
+44 (0)20 7882 2829
e.donovan@qmul.ac.uk

Marie Drath

Max Geilinger Junior Research Fellow in German-Swiss Literature 2016
Room : Arts One 2.05
m.drath@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Modern German Literature, German Realism, Wilhelm Raabe, Studies on the Idyll, Yiddish Language and Literature, Gender and Postcolonial Studies

Ian Ericson

External Liaison Manager
Room : F.B. 1.24
ext. 8137
i.ericson@qmul.ac.uk

Jill Evans

Head of Administration
Room : Arts One 1.03
+44 (0)20 7882 8300
j.k.evans@qmul.ac.uk

Robert Gillett

Reader in German and Comparative Cultural Studies
Room : Arts One 203
+44 (0)20 7882 8303
r.m.gillett@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : German, Austrian and Comparative Cultural Studies from 1800 to the present day, especially feminist and queer studies, the work of Hubert Fichte and theatre history

Spela Gruden

Programme Administrator (In-Sessional and Pre-Sessional Programmes)
Room : Arts One 1.08
+44 (0)20 7882 2827
s.gruden@qmul.ac.uk

Rudiger

Rüdiger Görner

Chair of Department
Room : Arts One 2.06
+44 (0)20 7882 8304
r.goerner@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : European Romanticism, Hölderlin's aftermath, Nietzsche's aesthetics, the Tower as a literary motif, the History of Anglo-German cultural relations, Life & Work of Oskar Kokoschka

Birgitta Hall

Year Abroad Development Manager
Room : Arts One 108
+44 (0)20 7882 5909
b.y.hall@qmul.ac.uk

Heather Heiner

Exams and Assessment Officer (Postgraduate & Foundation Programmes)
Room : Bancroft 124
+44 20 7882 6640
h.heiner@qmul.ac.uk

Astrid

Astrid Köhler

Reader in German
Room : Arts One 205
+44 (0)20 7882 8312
a.kohler@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Cultural History of late 18th & early 19th Century Germany, East German Authors before and after German Re-unification

Angus Nicholls

Reader in German and Comparative Literature
Room : Arts One 211
+44 (0)20 7882 2683
a.j.nicholls@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Literature and the human sciences, literary theory, literature and philosophy, German thought 1750 until the present, Anglo-German cultural relations, theories of myth, Goethe, German intellectuals in Australia and Britain.

Marko Pajevic

German Language Studies Co-Ordinator, Year Abroad Co-Ordinator (maternity cover)
Room : Arts One 2.01
+44 (0)20 7882 8301
m.pajevic@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Poetic thinking, Poetics, Germanic literature of the 20th and 21st centuries, Paul Celan, the relation between language and the constitution of meaning, Wilhelm von Humboldt, translation theory and practise, memory studies, film, multilinguism

Falco Pfalzgraf

• Director of Graduate Studies • Convenor: Language & Linguistics Section at the the Centre for Anglo-German Cultural Relations [CAGCR] • Chairman: London/UK branch of the Association for the German Language / Gesellschaft für deutsche Sprache [GfdS]
Room : Francis Bancroft Building 2.35
+44 (0)20 7882 8321
f.pfalzgraf@qmul.ac.uk

Martin Rebhan

DAAD-Lektor
Room : Arts One 2.02
+44 (0)20 7882 8339
m.rebhan@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Early Humanism in Bohemia, Comparative Fairy Tale Studies, Dialectology

Julia Rollitt

Programme Administrator (Undergraduate)
Room : Arts One, room 1.08
+44 20 7882 8331
j.m.rollitt@qmul.ac.uk

Martina Ruf

Austrian Lektorin
Room : ArtsOne 2.02
020-7882-8917
m.ruf@qmul.ac.uk

Rosine Smyrl

Student Experience Manager
Room : ArtsOne 103a
+44 (0)20 7882 2825
r.smyrl@qmul.ac.uk

Katerina Somers

Lecturer in German Linguistics and Medieval German
Room : Arts One 204
+44 (0)20 7882 5741
k.somers@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : The historical Germanic dialects: Old High German, Old Saxon, Old English, Middle High German, Middle Dutch Historical linguistics—syntactic, morphosyntactic and phonological change, Theories of language change, Sociohistorical linguistics, The syntax o

Lisa Stubbings

Programme Administrator (Undergraduate)
Room : Arts One 1.08
+44 20 7882 8314
l.stubbings@qmul.ac.uk

Hazel Tsoi-Wiles

Resources Administrator
Room : 1.24 Bancroft Building
ext. 6636
h.tsoi-wiles@qmul.ac.uk

Has Yate

QMplus and web-content administration and strategy
+44 20 7882 8697
h.yate@qmul.ac.uk

Return to top